What is it like to have twins?

img_9022

As a new mom of twins I’m often asked many questions. Sometimes too many. But instead of getting annoyed at ALL of the questions, I wanted to write some thoughts about what it is like to have twins. Disclosure: I’m only 6 months into this twin mom thing, so my thoughts and opinions will most likely change, but this is what it seems like to me thus far.

Having twins is absolutely amazing. It’s a double blessing, it’s like you hit the jackpot, twice. You often don’t understand how God would entrust you with two babies at the same time, but He did, and you remind yourself in the hard times, that you have been blessed, abundantly. It’s awesome to experience a bond like no other between your children. It’s not a bond you created but it is one you encourage. Sometimes as a twin mom, you feel so much love it’s almost impossible to comprehend and manage. Having twins is a wild and chaotic journey.

So let’s be real here, I’m not going to sugar coat this, having twins is also complete chaos. It’s tiring, carrying them through pregnancy is exhausting, not to mention you are labeled “high risk” so many doctors are constantly drilling you with questions as they monitor you and the babies a lot. Which in some cases is nice and other times you just want to say “Hey, leave me & my babies alone for 30 seconds!” Having a newborn means you don’t get sleep. Having two means you shouldn’t bank on sleeping through the night for a while. 6 months in and we are still up….end of story. Having twins and going out in public feels like you are a walking museum exhibit. People stare, are in awe, and ask WAY too many questions. And yes, I know I have my hands full, thanks for telling me what I already know.

My hands are full but my heart is overflowing. Sure, I could walk around being overwhelmed at the chaos that is the twin mom life. Some might, however, I chose to embrace it and be thankful that I have been blessed in this way.

 

About Kelly

My purpose in life is to be here (wherever my feet may fall), as a mom of twins, wife, daughter, sister, aunt, friend, counselor and a inspirational blogger.
This entry was posted in Family, Twin Mom and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What is it like to have twins?

  1. ohbeehave says:

    Thanks for sharing – I’m sure you’re doing an amazing job! 😉

    Like

Comments are closed.