Becoming a Mom

Becoming a mom has been a dream of mine for as long as I can remember. Actually, one of the reasons I haven’t been blogging for a while is connected to this dream. My dream was not fulfilled as I had expected. It gave me major writers block among other things, so I took a break from Graceful Dwellings. Although I’m not planning to share that story today, I wanted to move on and get this blog back up and running.  I’m sure posting will be difficult as a new mom, but I’m aspiring to continue this endeavor. Besides, I’ll have two new family members to write about as well. Yes, you read that correctly, two on the way, TWINS! We are so blessed!

IMG_4830

Everyone has heard of nesting, and I was fortunate enough to move to a new home while pregnant, so this nesting phase has been a busy to say the least. (Don’t worry I didn’t move any boxes!)

Now for the nursery reveal! We are expecting both a boy and a girl, so the color choices have been made accordingly. We love everything nautical and beachy, so that is our theme.

Before:

This room was another baby’s room prior to us moving in. Although it seemed “ready to go.” It wasn’t really our style and needed a good clean, so, we did a few things to make it our own.

 

During: 

The walls are painted, and all of the furniture and baby items are either stuffed in the closet or around the room. We were so fortunate to have been given so many “hand me downs” and gifts. The babies room became the dropping ground for all things baby and a few other odds and ends. The pictures below tell all!

 

After:

We painted the walls grey and added a navy blue accent wall where the clouds were painted previously.  We also put up some nautical decor that we had around from our screened in porch from our old house. I love how the anchor sticks out on the navy blue wall. We found the rug at BJ’s Wholesale for about $30. The glider rocker I found on a local sale website for $15. It also has an ottoman (not pictured) The chair needs a little love, which is a project for another day. All other items in this photo we had or were gifted to us. I love this cozy corner!

IMG_5715

The coral end table  has been many colors in it’s lifetime, most recently, yellow. I used spray paint from Home Depot to change the color to coral. I like how it brings a pop of “baby girl” to the room.  That change cost me about $6.

before yellow end table

IMG_5714

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To your right you will see a beautiful sign from Salvaged Love Designs, and a blanket rack that was my Grandma Kelly’s. This rack originally lived in the room that I spent the night in every time I went to my Grandma’s house. I always remember seeing it and extra quilts at the end of the bed. It had some chips on it from the move, so I also re-painted this with spray paint also from Home Depot, again about $6 with lots of left over paint for other projects.

Although the cribs haven’t made their grand appearance yet, we placed the mattresses in the spaces where we hope to place the cribs. Eventually when the babies can stand up and climb, we’ll have to move them, but for now, we want them to be as close to each other as possible.  I have been told the rock and plays are life savers, so we made sure to get two. The signs on the walls and the mobile were all gifts from my baby shower. The changing station has everything we need in one space.

IMG_5717

Above is a zoom in of the shelf above the changing station. It holds childhood memories from Mark’s childhood for baby boy, antique shoes from my baby shower, and a pink Care Bear that looks exactly like one that I had as a child. However, the bear came as a surprise in a hand me down box. The monitors of course are going to help us keep an eye on our babies.

Lastly the room expresses how much we love these two little babies already. How blessed we are to have them coming into our lives in just over a month… hopefully!

My dream is only being fulfilled because God intended it to happen this way, conceiving twins at this exact time. His dreams are my dreams.

 

About Kelly

My purpose in life is to be here (wherever my feet may fall), as a mom of twins, wife, daughter, sister, aunt, friend, counselor and a inspirational blogger.
This entry was posted in Before & Afters, DIY, Family, Twin Mom. Bookmark the permalink.